Kefir for Sourdough

kefir & sourdough kamut no knead bread loaf via breadtopia

I have an update on using kefir as the yeast for making knb. When I started using kefir, I substituted it 100% for fluid (i.e. 2 cups kefir instead of 2 cups water). The resulting loaf was very tasty, but a bit too moist, almost sticky, after being well cooked. So I slowly reduced the quantity of kefir. I now find that 50% kefir and 50% water works perfectly. It results in a lovely, light, moist loaf of bread with air holes evenly spaced throughout the entire loaf. I get a lighter loaf with kefir, using 100% whole wheat flour, than I ever did with either regular store bought yeast or sourdough starter. The bread has a very slight sour flavor to it, very mild, which is just how I like it. I find that it takes a full 24 hours for the dough to rise the first time, approximately 30-45 minutes for the second rise. When I used store bought yeast, it took 10 hours for the first rise, and about 1 hour the 2d. With sourdough starter, it took 10-12 hours for the first rise and about 1 hour for the 2d.

The other day, for the first time, I used the kefir and made a wonderful cinnamon raisin loaf that was better than anything I’ve ever purchased.

Donna Wakefield via breadtopia

i don’t know whether water kefir would work as well, but I think I’ll give it a try one day…

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

