Wheat Free Bread

image

nice crust!

image

respectable wheat-free crumb

following (generally) artofglutenfreebaking‘s sourdough bread (boule) gluten-free recipe, ours turned out pretty darned nice.  as before, we’ve got a non gluten-free starter (rye starter), but this is a wheat free loaf.

I used about 3 oz organic corn flour. 2 oz tapioca starch, 5 oz brown rice flour, 5 oz sorghum flour.  I don’t have 30 oz starter lying around (that’s a lot of starter – mine starts to get cranky if I don’t use it before that size), so I use what I have, and make up the balance of the 30 oz mass with 1:1 whole rye flour : water.  and I don’t use xanthan gum, and we reduced the sugar to only 2 tsp not 2 TBSP per the original.   this time, we also tried no parchment and it worked just fine in my lightly oiled sourdough ‘bator, and baked in our new bread machine.

the dough is similar to my more than satisfactory no-knead wheat (and ancient wheat-like grain) loaf attempts, and for those in the household that can’t eat wheat (and those that can!) it’s a delicious, successful, repeatable, whole-grain, wheat free bread.  woot!

One response »

Leave a Reply

